jump to navigation

My New Nikon November 11, 2012

Posted by Dave Nadeau in Photography.
trackback

I know, this took me way too long to start.  I researched, I deliberated, I waffled, I narrowed my choices down, and I waffled some more.  Then I decided.

I’m now the proud owner of a Nikon D7000 body and a NIKKOR AF-S DX 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II all-purpose lens.  I’m looking forward to building up a collection of specialty lenses over time and future holidays that need gift ideas (oh yeah!).  Craigslist will be my hunting ground.

If you should ever face a tough decision about camera equipment, I’d recommend Ken Rockwell’s website.  When I bought my equipment through Amazon, I linked into the site from Ken’s.  It was the same cost to me (I checked), but provided a spiff for Ken at the same time.  It’s probably a small thank you, but a thank you nonetheless.

Along with the camera, I purchased plenty of memory card muscle (32G + 16G High Speed SD cards) and haze and polarizing filters.

Naturally, the camera arrived while I was away last week in Madison, WI, and I have only two days back here before going to Madison again.  Colorado obliged me with a grey, flat light snow storm, so I haven’t had much chance to try out the polarizing filter.

It has been quite a few years since I’ve shot with an SLR.  My last was a 35mm film SLR.  So, it has been a while.  I’ve gotten fairly used to my point and shoot Canon SX200 IS.

The DSLR is a big step up, and very powerful.  I love the speed of the processor, the heft and feel of the camera in my overly large hands, and the size of the sensor.

Snowing… Apeture priority, f/5.6, 1/320 sec, 200mm

The large sensor means that even at f/5.6 I can still get a fairly narrow depth of field, placing emphasis on the foreground plants while blurring the busy background and snow falling farther away.  Yes, those blurred snowflakes to show off nice bokeh.

Rocky, Apeture priority, f/5.6, 1/320 sec, 200mm

The fast processor is also a lot of fun, especially for fast moving pets.  The camera seems to focus and fire almost instantaneously.  I can capture shots as fast as I can frame them.  And, I’m looking forward to using the continuous mode (up to 6 frames per sec) sometime soon.

Comments»

1. johnnadeau - November 11, 2012

It’s good to see you’ve revived one of your childhood passions. I look forward to seeing how creative you can be with your new toy.

2. Regulus, the guy for whom your theme was named. It looks good on you, I must say. - November 11, 2012

Holy shit! This is too much at once. I finally have a reason to visit WordPess, there are some cool pictures AND I get to learn about bokeh? When I pronounce it I thrust my hands forward, as though I’m offering flowers, but only a fool thinks it’s a gift. I’m showing, with my not overly-large (but grotesque in their own way) hands, the Gaussian distribution of blurry dots, the way that the Impressionists saw flowers and fields. You have an extra dimension here — the sharp foreground detail of snow-crusted eaves and those plant things. Very nice. And the portrait of Rocky uses the effect well also. One wants to reach out and grab his nose.


Leave a Reply

